News Flash


Posted on: November 7, 2017

Frisco Police Arrest Man Unlawfully Acting as an Attorney

(November 7, 2017) On November 6th, 2017 the Frisco Police Department, along with the Texas Rangers, arrested Dustin Craig Mitchell, a previous resident of Frisco Texas, for Falsely Holding Oneself Out as a Lawyer.

The Frisco Police Department, with the assistance of the Texas Rangers, is investigating several cases where Mitchell is alleged to have impersonated an attorney for financial gain, even though he is not licensed to do so. It is believed that Mitchell has, on at least two occasions over the past six months, impersonated an attorney in Denton and Collin Counties. In these cases, Mitchell is accused of receiving money from victims who were seeking legal help.

Falsely Holding Oneself Out as a Lawyer (Texas Penal Code 38.122) is a 3rd degree felony in the State of Texas, which can carry a fine up to $10,000 and a 2-10 year prison sentence.
Mitchell was transported to the Collin County Detention Center where he is being held on a $6,000 bond.

Anyone who has had contact with Mitchell, in which he has claimed to be an attorney or offered legal services, is urged to contact the Frisco Police Department.

Anyone with information regarding this offense is requested to contact the Frisco Police Department at (972) 292-6010. They can also send an anonymous tip by texting FRISCOPD and the tip to 847411 (tip411) or by downloading the Frisco PD app available on Android and iOS devices.

Frisco Police PIO’s are available via email at or by phone at 972-292-6133.

Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email

Other News in Home

RESTORED: 911 Service

Posted on: September 12, 2018

Frisco Fire Receives SAFER Grant

Posted on: August 24, 2018

Frisco Police Investigate Shooting

Posted on: June 16, 2018

General Election Results

Posted on: May 4, 2018

Frisco Police Investigate Shooting

Posted on: April 18, 2018

Frisco Police Investigate Shooting

Posted on: April 6, 2018

2018 Great Texas Warrant Roundup

Posted on: February 23, 2018

Denton County Issues Mandatory Burn Ban

Posted on: December 7, 2017