History of the Department

The Frisco Police Department was established in 1965 to service what, at the time, was a very small farming community. In 1965 and years soon thereafter, the department resembled nothing of today’s progressive police agency.

As recently as 20 years ago, the department consisted of a scant 12 employees, including the Chief of Police and dispatchers. To put it in perspective, there are currently more than 200 sworn officers and 100 non-sworn civilian staff.

The Frisco patch has evolved over the years, with the latest edition representing the city’s history involving the railroad and cattle trails.

Patch Collage

Police Headquarters

The Police Department started its operations in a small, old house on Oak Street that had previously been the home of Dr. Erwin Pink’s medical practice. Police headquarters would later move to 8750 McKinney Road (the current location of the Frisco Boys & Girls Club) where the facilities grew to include a holding cell for the temporary housing of prisoners.

Later, with the increasing size of the agency, the Police Department added an annex facility to house the Criminal Investigation Division and Community Services Division, as well as a substation in Stonebriar Centre after its opening for some of the Patrol Division.

In October 2006, the Police Department consolidated all of its operations into one building and moved into its current headquarters and jail facility located at 7200 Stonebrook Parkway. Additions to the police department since that time have included the build-out of the crime laboratory and addition of the 10-lane indoor shooting range.

The Chiefs of Police

Since the agency's inception in 1965, there have been a total of eight Chiefs of Police (not including interim positions).

Jack Lane was named the first police chief and was not only the Chief of Police, but at times the one and only patrol officer employed by the department.

Since that time, the police chiefs have assumed a more traditional role as agency leader and administrator.

Prior Frisco Chiefs of Police include:

  • Jack Lane (1965 to 1968)
  • Manuel Anzaldua (1968 to 1978)
  • Chuck Burton (1978 to 1982)
  • Jerry Burton (1983 to 1984)
  • Ron Spears (1985 to 1986)
  • Roger Wingo (1986 to 1993)
  • Todd Renshaw (1994 to 2012)
  • John Bruce (2012 to 2019)
Frisco Police Chief Badge
Old Police Patrol Car