Voter Registration

Voter Registration

For more information, visit your county's website listed below. Voter registration applications are available in the City Secretary's Office or through the Texas Secretary of State. People who have not previously registered to vote, or have moved from another county, will need to register with the county clerk in the county they reside. Once you have registered to vote, you should receive your card within 30 days.

Collin County Elections Administrator
Phone: 972-547-1990
Phone: 800-687-8546 (McKinney)
Collin County Elections

Denton County Elections Administrator
Phone: 940-349-3200 metro
Denton County Elections

Texas Secretary of State
View TX SOS elections

Registration Eligibility

To be eligible to register in Texas, you must:

  • Be a U.S. citizen
  • Be a resident of the county
  • Be 18 years old (you may register at 17 years and 10 months)
  • Not be a convicted felon (unless a person's sentence is completed, including any probation or parole)
  • Not be declared mentally incapacitated by a court of law
Mail completed applications to:
  • If you live in Collin County:
    Registrar of Voters
    County Courthouse
    McKinney, TX 75069
  • If you live in Denton County:
    Registrar of Voters
    County Courthouse
    Denton, TX 76201

Denton County Voter Information:

Denton County has been requiring voters to use paper ballots since November 2017. The voting process is, as follows:

  • Check in and verify voter.
  • Enter code and print ballot.
  • Go to the voting booth to mark your ballot.
  • Fill in the box of the person(s) you are voting for.
  • Scan your ballot into the counter that will deposit your ballot into a secure locked ballot box.
  • If you mark outside the box, the scanner will not accept the ballot.  After 3 failed ballots, the voter may use the voting machine designated for handicapped voters.