Go Search

Tax Administration 

Texas Property Tax System:

Local, property taxes are based on the value of taxable property called ad valorem, which means “according to value” in Latin. The tax is based on the 100% market value of the property. Local officials value your property; set your tax rates; and collect your taxes. State law governs the process.

Property taxes are determined by:

- What a property is used for on January 1

- Market conditions at the time

- And ownership of property on that date

A tax lien attaches to property on January 1 to secure payment of taxes for the year.

Property taxes are a major funding source of local services including public schools; community health services; and city services such as fire and police protection; streets and parks and recreation.

All property is taxable unless state or federal law exempts all -- or part of the value. Total exemptions may be granted for public properties or those owned by qualifying organizations such as churches, schools, or charitable organizations. Over sixty-five, social security disability, and disabled veterans exemptions are examples of partial exceptions, which reduce the taxable value on qualifying property.

Property taxes become due on October 1. Taxpayers have until January 31st of the following year to pay their tax bill before taxes become delinquent.  It is the responsibility of the Taxpayers to seek out all tax bills due. Failure to send or receive a tax bill does not affect the validity of the tax, penalty, interest, due date, existence of a tax lien or any procedure instituted to collect a tax.

Please Note:
City of Frisco residents living in Collin County receive a tax statement:
- from Collin County Tax Collector, which includes City of Frisco, Collin County, Collin County Community College District taxes and Frisco Independent School District (FISD) taxes

City of Frisco residents living in Denton County still receive (2) two tax statements: 
- one from the Denton County Tax Collector, which includes Lewisville ISD 
- one from Collin County, which is billing for the City of Frisco taxes and Frisco ISD taxes   

City of Frisco, Texas
George A. Purefoy Municipal Center

6101 Frisco Square Blvd
Frisco, Texas 75034
Find Us

All Rights Reserved. 2011 City of Frisco, Texas