Cases heard by the Frisco Municipal Court are Class C misdemeanor violations that are punishable by fine only. Jurors are selected from a random list of Frisco residents. Jury service is normally for one day, and impaneled jurors are paid $6.00 per day.
You may call 972-292-5554, AFTER 5:00 p.m. THE NIGHT BEFORE YOUR DATE OF JUROR SERVICE to determine if your appearance is required for Jury Duty. Your juror service date and time appear on the front of your Summons. Please listen to the entire message, as it provides important information regarding your service.
Why is Jury Service Important?
The United States Constitution and the Texas Constitution guarantee all people, regardless of race, religion, sex, national origin, or economic status, the right to trial by an impartial jury. Justice ultimately depends to a large measure upon the quality of the jurors who serve in our courts.
What Is My Duty As A Juror?
As a juror, you must be fair and impartial. Your actions and decisions must be free of any bias or prejudice. The integrity of your actions and decisions are the foundation of our judicial system.
How Was I Selected?
You were selected at random from a public information listing of Frisco residents.
Am I Eligible?
Jurors called to serve in the Frisco Municipal Court must:
- Be a citizen of the United States and of Texas.
- Be at least 18 years of age.
- Reside within the city limits of Frisco.
- Be able to read and write.
- Be of sound mind.
You cannot serve on a jury if:
- You have been convicted of a felony or of any type of theft (unless rights have been restored);
- You are now on probation or deferred adjudication for a felony or for any type of theft; or
- You are now under indictment for a felony or are now under criminal charges for any type of theft.
- If you are in doubt, or think you may not be qualified to serve on a jury for one of the above or any other reasons, please notify the judge.
Who Can Be Excused From Jury Service?
You are entitled to be excused as a juror if you:
- Are over 70 years of age;
- Have legal custody of a child under 10 years of age and jury service would leave the child unsupervised;
- Are a student in class;
- Are the caretaker of a person who is unable to care for themselves (an invalid); or
- Can show a physical or mental impairment or an inability to comprehend or to communicate in English.
These exemptions are not mandatory and an individual who meets one or more of these criteria may still serve on a jury panel. If you wish to claim an exemption, you must complete the reverse side of your summons and return it to the Municipal Court at least seven days prior to the scheduled date of jury service.
Every citizen is obligated to serve when called. Texas law does not recognize exemptions from jury service for economic or business reasons. Hardships or circumstances requiring brief postponement in jury service will be considered on an individual basis. Employers are required to give employees time off for jury service (pursuant to Civil Practice & Remedies Code Section 122.001).
Can Jury Service Be Rescheduled?
Jury service is very important, but sometimes serious scheduling conflicts do arise. You may reschedule your jury service only one time. To do this, you must complete the reverse side of your jury summons immediately upon receipt and return it to the Municipal Court. Jury service will not be rescheduled if the Municipal Court is not contacted at least seven days prior to the scheduled date of jury service. Jurors who postpone their jury service will be recalled within 6-8 weeks, and no further resets will be granted.